Game Dev Contest
Join in on the Game Development contest with over $300 in prizes!
Banner Creation Contest!
Help the community out by creating your own version of the banner, and potentially having that as the main banner!
Resources
Check out our resources :D
Upgrade your account
Help out the community, and keep the website running and fully up to date by donating! :D

Creating multi-level structures?

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL ABSTRACT SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR
Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr. Open

NPC
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Messages
20
Points
17
RM Skill
Mapper
Hello again! (blush) It's me with yet another problem I can't solve by myself...
So, I was looking at one of the loaded maps (specifically a castle one, I'll include it as a file) and can't find a way to recreate a similar thing. This building clearly has levels, it has additional entrances on the next floor, it has additional stairs etc.
Thing is when I try to do it I can put walls from tileset A, but can't do the same with roof-like tiles. Is it even possible to recreate something similar? (aww)

The first image is the default loaded map with some additional edits.
Map004.png
The second one is me, trying to create a "second floor", I selected areas where I was trying to add that roof tile, but couldn't (seems like the engine can't put one roof on another one? idk)
Screen Shot 2018-07-27 at 01.06.44.png
 
Last edited by a moderator:

CT_Bolt

Global Moderator
Staff member
Resource Team
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
550
Points
248
RM Skill
Programmer
I attempted to recreate the castle using sand. (...sand castle lol)
Does this look close?

There's a lot of shift-click mapping going on there.(cool)



Also you can right click/drag around a group of tiles then shift left click to place them exactly as they were selected without triggering the auto tile.

Hope that helps. Please let me know if this helps. (cool)
 
Last edited:

Starbird

Praised Adventurer
Resource Team
Joined
Feb 20, 2016
Messages
308
Points
224
RM Skill
Pixel Artist
I attempted to recreate the castle using sand. (...sand castle lol)
Does this look close?

There's a lot of shift-click mapping going on there.(cool)



Also you can right click/drag around a group of tiles then shift left click to place them exactly as they were selected without triggering the auto tile.

Hope that helps. Please let me know if this helps. (cool)

you beat me to it! the secret is shift-click
 

Mr. Open

NPC
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Messages
20
Points
17
RM Skill
Mapper
Okay, that's it! Sorry for such a late reply, I had to repair my pc before doing any work or using the forum. (aww)
 

CT_Bolt

Global Moderator
Staff member
Resource Team
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
550
Points
248
RM Skill
Programmer
Yup, shift click mapping has helped me make some incredible maps.
No worries, glad to here you got your PC repaired. (cool)(thumbsup)
Happy to help. (cute)

Thread is now closed. Due to this being solved.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top