Message Above Head Not Working

GO TO ADMIN PANEL > ADD-ONS AND INSTALL ABSTRACT SIDEBAR TO SEE FORUMS AND SIDEBAR

Naterkix

NPC
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
17
Points
2
Age
31
Location
Denver, Colorado, US
Okay, so, I couldn't find anything asked by anyone else so I'll ask myself.

I'm wanting to use Yanfly's extended message plugin to make it show the text box above that characters head. I couldn't get \msgevent[x] to work so I tried \autoevent[x] and got this:


I tried messing with some things but can't figure out why it's no above the characters head instead of their entire body. The video tutorial-thing for the plugin has it showing up above it rather than whatever's going on for me. Any ideas or help would be much appreciated since I'm going back and adding it to earlier text and want to get this figured out before any more text is made.
 

CT_Bolt

Global Moderator
Staff member
Resource Team
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
566
Points
248
Website
ctbolt.wordpress.com
Okay, so, I couldn't find anything asked by anyone else so I'll ask myself.

I'm wanting to use Yanfly's extended message plugin to make it show the text box above that characters head. I couldn't get \msgevent[x] to work so I tried \autoevent[x] and got this:


I tried messing with some things but can't figure out why it's no above the characters head instead of their entire body. The video tutorial-thing for the plugin has it showing up above it rather than whatever's going on for me. Any ideas or help would be much appreciated since I'm going back and adding it to earlier text and want to get this figured out before any more text is made.
Made a very small mod for this. (cool)

Yanfly's Message Ext1 CTB_Mod: Click Here to download

Place this below yanfly's.

Also if you didn't know already... to adjust the X position of the name box...
upload_2018-12-29_14-39-39.png

Please let me know how it goes.
Works nicely for me. (cute)(thumbsup)
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Naterkix

NPC
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
17
Points
2
Age
31
Location
Denver, Colorado, US

Hooway, it works! No idea what that changed but you're amazing. If I had a way to teleport a cookie of your choosing directly onto your desk, I totally would.

Also, the Buffer box thing was another thing I messed with while trying to figure this out. I think it was still in a "finagled" state when the screenshot was taken for the first post.

Edit:
Well, now \autoevent[0] (to show above the player) is doing the same thing...
 
Last edited:

CT_Bolt

Global Moderator
Staff member
Resource Team
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
566
Points
248
Website
ctbolt.wordpress.com
Hooway, it works! No idea what that changed but you're amazing. If I had a way to teleport a cookie of your choosing directly onto your desk, I totally would.
lol aww was no biggy, just added/changed a few lines of code. Happy to help. (cool)(thumbsup)

Edit:
Well, now \autoevent[0] (to show above the player) is doing the same thing...
Woops forgot about that... updated the mod.

Tada! Click here to download.

Let me know how it goes.
 

Attachments

Naterkix

NPC
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
17
Points
2
Age
31
Location
Denver, Colorado, US
Okay, so it's definitely working, but:


Do you think the best thing to do here would be to resize the character portraits (which are the default size, assuming doing so wouldn't break anything) or is there some other code/setting that'd offset the box a bit? I tried setting "Auto Row Full Face" to false but that just cut off everything but, like, the forehead.
[doublepost=1546240967,1546144416][/doublepost]
I adjusted the padding and character portrait height in the Yanfly core settings and got this (not sure why this one's kinda blurry...):


Figured I'd show it so nobody needs to do anymore addons or anything since this'll work fine. Thanks for the stuff ngain though; it'll be super-helpful going forward. I was gonna add tis to the previous post but the post-maker-thing got upset at me for... reasons? Maybe editing that far out isn't allowed due to the "mod okays before people can see" or something.

I edited the padding in the settings and got it to look fine that way. Thanks for all the help. I'd like to add you to the credits file, so would that be CT_Bolt?
 

CT_Bolt

Global Moderator
Staff member
Resource Team
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
566
Points
248
Website
ctbolt.wordpress.com
I adjusted the padding and character portrait height in the Yanfly core settings and got this (not sure why this one's kinda blurry...):
Figured I'd show it so nobody needs to do anymore addons or anything since this'll work fine. Thanks for the stuff again though; it'll be super-helpful going forward.
I edited the padding in the settings and got it to look fine that way. Thanks for all the help. I'd like to add you to the credits file, so would that be CT_Bolt?
Sorry for the delay. Glad to see you got it working nicely.
Yup CT_Bolt would be fine. Thanks for the credit.

I could write a more customize-able addon for this though if you'd like. With parameter settings for 'Y' location settings.
 
Last edited:

Naterkix

NPC
Joined
Sep 22, 2018
Messages
17
Points
2
Age
31
Location
Denver, Colorado, US
If it wouldn't be too much trouble, yeah, that'd be great. I'm sure having more control over those will come in rather handy.
 
Top